Wheathampstead Loyalty Card

Buying from your local businesses
Introducing the latest stage in Wheathampstead’s Buy It Locally campaign – the Wheathampstead Loyalty Card.

Whenever you buy something from one of the participating businesses they will give you a sticker to put on your loyalty card.  When you have six stickers you can exchange your card for a free beverage at Charlie’s or a Farr Brew beer in the Reading Rooms.

At least one of the six stickers needs to come from a non-High Street business.  You can easily tell them apart because High Street stickers are green and non-High Street ones are gold.

Loyalty Card

Deadline: 31 May 2019

You can find details of the participating businesses below and also in the window of No 8 High Street.

Business Name What they do Address Website
2by2 Holidays Travel Agent (Africa, Latin America, India) 2, Place Farm 2by2holidays.co.uk
All Tog Duvets Online retailer of duvets, pillows & mattresses Station Road alltogduvets.co.uk
Barbers Yard, The Barber 32, High Street
Birthwell Hypnobirthing Hypnobirthing instructor Coleswood Road, Harpenden birthwell.co.uk
Body Mechanix Osteopath 68B, High Street, Harpenden www.facebook.com/

bodymechanixharpenden

Brimark Butchers Butcher 4, Mill Walk
C# Music Tuition Piano Tuition Lower Luton Road csharpmusic.co.uk
Charlie’s Coffee shop & tea room 1A, Station Road facebook.com/

charlieswheathampstead

Claire Spake Illustrator Park Lane, Kimpton clairespake.com
Click4Accounts Accountant 41, Poppyfields, Welwyn Garden City click4accounts.co.uk
Complete Guttering Services Guttering replacement, repair and cleaning services Hilldyke Road complete-guttering.co.uk
Creative Creases & Folds Bespoke craftware designer Necton Road creativecreasesandfolds.co.uk
Dave Nash Handy man
Electric Bike Volt Cycle shop and repairer 16, High Street theelectricbikevolt.co.uk
Elephant & Castle Pub & restaurant Amwell Lane, Amwell, W’stead elephantcastle.co.uk
Fiona Harrison Floral Designer
Forever Living An Aloe Vera company fionaloe.myforever.biz/store
Ian Scott Photography Photographer Valley Rise ianscottphotography.co.uk
J P Plumbing & Bathrooms Plumbing & Heating Engineer / Bathrooms Necton Road
Jessamine Motor Company Car servicing, repairs & MOTs 15, High Street jessaminegarage.co.uk
Lamburn & Turner Accountant 3, Place Farm lamburnandturner.co.uk
Manor Pharmacy Chemist 2, High Street manorpharmacygroup.co.uk
Necton Consulting Leadership & Business Coaching and HR Consultancy Necton Road nectonconsulting.co.uk
Physio Specialist Physiotherapist 9, Station Road physiospecialist.co.uk
Post Office Post Office and general store 5, Station Road wheathampstead.net/post-office/
Rachel Jeffrey Jewellery designer and maker 1, Mill Walk racheljeffrey.co.uk
Reading Rooms, The Micropub 36, High Street farrbrew.com
Retromum Catering Catering for all occasions Wick Avenue retromumcatering.com
Striking Places Photography services and virtual tours Belsize Close,

Jersey Farm

strikingplaces.com
Swan, The Pub & restaurant 56, High Street theswanwheathampstead.co.uk
The Beautique Beauty & Hair salon 9, Station Road beautiquebeautyrooms.co.uk
Thirst 4 Mugs Hand-made china mugs, incl. custom designs Necton Road thirst4mugs.co.uk
Utility Warehouse Discount club for utilities – gas, electricity, etc. juliaverney.com
Visionary Accountants Accountant 2, Adelaide Street, St Albans visionaryaccountants.co.uk
Wendy Griffith Wellbeing coach / healthy living, nutrition and make-up Butterfield Road wendygriffith.co.uk
Wheathampstead & District Preservation Society Village conservation group wheathampsteadpreservation.

org.uk

Wheathampstead Dental Surgery Dentist 12, High Street https://wheathampstead.dental
Wheathampstead Fryer Fish and chips 18, High Street wheathampstead.net/fish-chips
Wheathampstead Osteopathic Clinic Osteopath The Village Surgery, Marford Road wheathampstead-osteoclinic.co.uk

 

 

 

Buying from your local businesses

Buy it Locally

There are two things you’ll want to know: 1) Why is it important to me and 2) How can I buy locally more often.  Here are some answers to those questions.

 

Why Buy Locally

  1. Get a better service. Local independent businesses care much more about their reputation, as a result you get a better service from someone who lives near you.
  2. Boost the local economy. For every £1 spent with a small independent business 63 pence is reinvested locally, by buying locally you are making your village more prosperous.
  3. Create local jobs. A more prosperous business community creates more local employment. By spending more locally you could be creating jobs for people you know.
  4. Have more choice. The more you spend locally, the more businesses you support and the more businesses will be attracted to the village. The end result is you get a wider choice.
  5. Live in a nicer community. A thriving village centre means you avoid having to live in yet another sterile dormitory town.

How to find local businesses

You’ll be amazed at just how many independent businesses there are in your village and how varied they are. Have a quick look in your free edition of WOW (Window on Wheathampstead) or in the online directory on this website.